Past editions

Rail_St Pancras_KoviKonowiecki

In 2016 British Journal of Photography launched an open call for photographs of British citizens that would celebrate our country’s unique heritage and diversity.

Portrait of Britain became the most viewed photographic exhibition ever in the UK, running on JCDecaux’s nationwide network of digital screens throughout September and October 2016 and reaching over twenty million people whilst they went about their every day lives.

The unprecedented exhibition received major national press coverage, bringing incredible exposure to the photographers featured, and has since been named Digital Innovation of the Year at the Independent Publisher Awards 2016.

Of nearly 4000 entries, we selected the portraits that captured the young and the old, reflecting not just the multiformity of British people, but also the myriad of styles and approaches to contemporary photographic portraiture.

See the press coverage for POB 2016 


PoB_cover_imageOct_2560x1600Our October 2016 issue of BJP took a closer look at the Portrait of Britain exhibition as well as in-depth features with some of the world’s leading portrait photographers. The Portrait of Britain 2016 issue is still available in print and digital versions.


Selected photographers in 2016

Francesca Allen / Chris Baker / Eleanor Bentall / Nina Borowsky / Samuel Bradley / Hannah Burton / Fabiola Cedillo / Tereza Červeňová / Jon Clay / Dylan Collard / Annie Collinge / Thomas Dryden-Kelsey / Andrew Edwards (AME XXV) / Brock Elbank / Tim Fisher / Angelo Formato / Jona Frank / Julia Fullerton-Batten / Emanuele Giovagnoli / Benji Gordon / Alex Grace / James Hall / Mark Harrison / Frederike Helwig / Shara Henderson / Clare Hewitt / Liz Hingley / Michael John Hunter/ Adama Jalloh / Tom Johnson / Jack Johnstone / Tom Keen  / Mathew Philip Jones / Phoebe Kiely / Bill Knight / Kovi Konowiecki / Buki Koshoni / Wojtek Kutyla / Claudia Leisinger / Jenny Lewis / Anneleen Lindsay / Andy Lo Pò / Sahil Lodha / Derek Lomas/ William Arkle Marsden / Matt MacPake / Simon Martin / Oliver Martin / Rosie Matheson / Gavin Maxwell / Jamie McGregor Smith / Jo Metson Scott / Paul Meyler / George Micheal Mundy / Jack Minto / Ali Mobasser / Kelvin Murray / James O Jenkins / Chris O’Donovan / Zoe Ranford / Peter Robinson / Clémentine Schneidermann / David Severn / Arpita Shah / Rosaline Shahnavaz / Nick Shand / Phil Sharp / Andrew Shaylor / Christoph Soeder / Neil Spence / Chris Symonds / Eliza Tamo / Fergus Thomas / Celia Topping / David Vintiner / Tom Watkins / Dan Wilton / Fiona Yaron-Field / Mei Ying Chan

How to enter POB 2017

Deadline for entries: Monday 26 June 2017